School Logo


School Logo School Logo

Church of England Primary School

Respect - Support - Inspire

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details

Governor Overview



Each School must have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing the running of the School, the appointment of staff, setting the policies the school follows, and ensuring that the financial and procedural affairs are in order. Governors do not get involved in the day to day management of the School - that is for the Headteacher, or the detailed teaching, but they are required to monitor the Curriculum and many other aspects of School life. They are also responsible for the School Buildings and Grounds.


There are fourteen Governors. As a Church of England Aided School the Governing Body is made up of representatives of the Diocese, the Local Authority, the Parochial Church Council, both Teaching and Non Teaching Staff, and Parents. The Headteacher and the Priest in Charge of St Mary's are automatically Governors. There is a Clerk to the Governors who provides a wide range of administrative services and procedural advice. Currently Trevor Gasson is the Chair the Governing Body, and Amanda Honey is Vice Chair.


Elham is particularly fortunate at present in having a number of parents on the Governing Body. Not only are there the two formally elected Parent Governors, but also several of the representatives of the PCC are parents.


The main Governing Board normally meets six times a year, but the work of the Governors is undertaken by three Committees that meet more regularly. They cover Strategy,  Finance and Property,  and Curriculum and Data. Other Committees, such as Pay and Personnel,  will meet as required.


If you wish the Governors to be aware of any matter then please contact any Governor, if need be via the School Office.  We would far rather be made aware of concerns at an early stage rather than waiting till they have become major issues.

Our Governors

October 2023


NameAppointed byLead areas of Responsibility

Mrs Jane Blain


R.E. / SIAMS / Early Years

Mr Simon Burvill


IT Overview

Vacancy awaiting appointment



Mr Dan File

Head Teacher


Mr Trevor Gasson (Chair)


Finance / Pupil Premium
Mr Ashley GendekParent GovernorH&S / Property

Miss Stephanie Hammond

Local Authority

Training & Development 

Ms Amanda Honey (Vice Chair)



Dr Anne LeBaigueDioceseSEN / SIP/ Parent Forum
Mr Ed RobbinsParent GovernorSIAMS 

Mrs Claire Short


Parent Forum

Dr Anne LeBaigue


SEN / Curriculum

Mrs Cheryl Vincent



Revd Cat Darkins





Mrs Jenny Gasson (Clerk)