School Logo


School Logo School Logo

Church of England Primary School

Respect - Support - Inspire

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details

Our Curriculum

Our Curriculum Intent

At Elham Primary School we believe in lifelong learning where everyone is developing and extending their learning skills. We aim to design a curriculum that is exciting, fun and imaginative.  Our curriculum ensures that children have the opportunity to become independent learners who have an input into what is taught, making it a relevant and constantly evolving. By acknowledging that all children have had their own unique experiences and possess individual differences, learning styles and abilities, we ensure that we build upon the experiences that each child brings to school and provide them with the right degree of challenge to ensure that they flourish.


Early Years Foundation Stage/ Reception

At Elham children of Reception age (who are in Acorn Class) follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (E.Y.F.S.). This curriculum is divided into:

Three prime areas of learning: communication and language, physical development and personal, social and emotional development.

Four specific areas of learning: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design

Three learning Characteristics: Playing and Exploring, Active Learning and Creating and Thinking critically.


Key Stage 1 and 2

Key Stage 1 and 2 classes (Hazel, Willow, Silver Birch, Beech and Oak Classes) follow the National Curriculum which consists of the Core Subjects: Literacy, Numeracy, Science, ICT and R.E; and the Foundation Subjects: History, Geography, P.E., Music, P.H.S.E., Art , Design and Technology and French. 

Most of these subjects are taught in class by the class teacher; however we do have a number of specialist teachers who provide expertise in Music, Computing, French and P.E. Where year groups are split, for example Silver Birch and Beech Classes the curriculum follows a three year rolling programme so that pupils cover everything they need to and do not do the same topics twice.

More information on The National Curriculum can be found here-

Complete guide to the National Curriculum